06
Jul
11

Food Storage

I guess I am going to start blogging about making preparations for TEOTWAWKI. Its important to me at this point and I now that I am working on this I am truly worried about getting prepped. Living in the northwest there are numerous catastrophes that could befall us here, including floods, snow storms, earthquakes, and lahars or even volcanic eruptions. Not to mention all of the potential human caused problems.

It is my hope that these posts will inspire others to begin storing up food for their own families so as to minimize the effects of any disruption to life from any of the above, or whatever local conditions might throw at you.

Food Storage this week
24 cans veggies
12 small cans of mandarins
5lbs white sugar
4lbs dark brown sugar (LOVE brown sugar, great for lots of things including just plain eating!)
4lbs iodized salt
10 small packs of jello
5lbs peanut butter
1 large box powdered milk

Cost? About $45

This is in addition to approx 13lbs of canned meats (chicken, ham, salmon and tuna), one bottle of oil, and about 20 lbs of various dried beans and peas and 10lbs of rice. I’d say this puts me at about 90lbs of food specifically for storage. Obviously the beans, peas and rice expand tremendously in weight and volume but its not much right now. I have a VERY long way to go. It seems that the more I purchase the more I realize just how far I have to go. That, of course, is not a reason to stall or put it off. I’d say that if I did nothing more but store water I’d easily ride out a couple week long disruption.

And speaking of water, I really need to find a good way to store it. Preferably cheaply. I have found a nearby company called EarthWaveLiving.com that sells storage containers for what are probably a good price? I think though, that it would be best to find someone local to you as the shipping costs are (justifiably) high. Picking it up yourself would save a ton. Of course, always check Craigslist.

2 Responses to “Food Storage”


  1. 1 Giraffe
    July 6, 2011 at 8:56 AM

    If you are storing in buckets, you can place a small piece of dry ice in. The carbon dioxide replaces the air, and the food will keep almost indefinitley. I don’t know the method from memory but it is in the book “how to survive the end of the world as we know it” by Rawles who also blogs at survival blog.

    Lots of good info in both places.

  2. 2 Wonder Woman
    July 7, 2011 at 2:13 PM

    Now you just need a naked chick! Can you find one of those on that list of Craig’s?
    Hee hee..

    WW …


Leave a Reply

