28
Feb
11

Sorry to hurt your brain!

My apologies in advance, this WILL hurt your brain but it needs to be seen, especially by those with kids or who hope to have them someday.

I will only say this once (today) HOMESCHOOL if at ALL possible!

8 Responses to “Sorry to hurt your brain!”


  1. 1 Tuttle
    February 28, 2011 at 5:53 AM

    Amen, brother!

  2. 3 Pickle
    February 28, 2011 at 11:31 AM

    Ya I couldn’t believe it when I saw it. I cannot believe she isn’t allowed to do it the correct way at school.

  3. February 28, 2011 at 5:20 PM

    I’m 1:30 into this vid and I can’t take any more. I was expecting the kid to take the numbers out of the story problem and line them up under each other and actually do the math. I expect the kid to “carry” etc but its a kid adding numbers I didn’t expect her to do it in her head.

    Oh look 3:48 into the video she gets it done in less than 1min but it took 8min the “new” way.

    I’m far from being a math wiz, but if I would have had to learn math by drawing boxes I’d have become a math retard. Teachers who push this crap on kids should be shot, survivors should be shot again.

  4. 5 JN
    March 19, 2011 at 10:04 PM

    Move along, nothing to see here. The schools are working exactly as designed.

  5. 6 Laverne & Shirley
    July 1, 2011 at 6:03 PM

    This might be a way of improving the “visual-spatial” abilities of kids.

    I always had a hard time with math and wish that there would have been an alternative approach taken with me in teaching it. I may have been one of the kids whom this “conceptual” math concept might have worked on.

  6. July 16, 2011 at 1:01 PM

    Also not able to watch it all the way through.

    That girl needs to be introduced to Cuisenaire rods. They would be way more fun, way less confusing, and more concrete.

    As well as learning to do it the correct way in the first place.

  7. July 17, 2011 at 5:35 PM

    Nilk,

    the funny thing is, the end of the video shows that the girl knows how to do the math properly. Using the long drawn out method she was being taught she came up with the wrong answer, but then she did the normal “stacking” and she got the right answer in less than 30 seconds. I am introducing my 5 y/o to stacking and he is not having problems with it.

    As for the Cuisenaire Rods, I will look into those for my own child (o=


Leave a Reply

