08
Sep
10

Man Saves (Hoards) Cats, Destroys Environment

I was sent a link to a cutsie story about some guy who disliked cats but thru unforeseen circumstances started taking care of them and eventually built them a village of cat sized buildings. It is a “feel good” story tho if you don’t think too much on it. Predictably, all the comments are about how wonderful this guy is. But not a single commenter, except me of course bothered to think of the consequences of keeping dozens of cats outdoors to destroy the animals that make up the local ecology.

I doubt anyone would have a problem figuring out which are my comments.

4 Responses to “Man Saves (Hoards) Cats, Destroys Environment”


  1. September 8, 2010 at 8:23 AM

    I have seen the damage that cats can do when “kind” people feed the problem. This is particularly a California thing. I have noticed old ladies in particular like to leave food for the feral cats at the local parks. Those cats of course do not get neutered or vaccinated and spread diseases to the domestic cat populations.

    Most animal control people turn a blind eye because they don’t want to fight with the cat ladies and catching feral cats is hard work.

    I don’t have a problem with this guy. He is spending his opwn money and attending tot eh cats in what appears to be a responsible way. He could improve this if he offered the cats for adoption.

    I have a cat but I cannot imagine liking cats enough to devote my life to their support.

  2. 2 TransplantedTexan
    September 8, 2010 at 11:09 AM

    660 cats on thirty acres running wild, I dont find that responsible. Plus the cost – 660 cats + 550.0 per each a year?
    How do you keep 660 cats on your property, shy of a dome?
    I find this to be liberal insanity.

  3. 3 Giraffe
    September 13, 2010 at 2:11 PM

    Maybe one could make quite a bit of money trapping them for medical research, if you lived close by.

    If I lived there, I’d do something about it, if only due to my natural contrariness. Think about what a nuisance that would be. Imagine the yowling and flowerbed digging.

    I had one get into my garage and rip the trash open. I had seen the dang thing and let it live a few days before.

  4. September 19, 2010 at 4:11 PM

    Awwww pussy cats…

    Heh.

    Poor little guys…

    😉


Leave a Reply

