27
Jul
10

A Commenting Policy?

In just over 6 years of blogging I have never had to ban anyone, nor have I had to moderate comments before allowing them to post to my blog. In fact, with the exception of a single post I pulled several years ago due to personal attacks in the comments I have never had to do anything with my commenters. I have allowed wide latitude to disagree with me, my posts or with other commenters here. This isn’t a sanctuary. Never has been and it will not become one. This blog is public so that any may come here and offer their viewpoints no matter how radically they differ from mine. This also is not going to change.

What this blog is not is a sounding board for those who persist in making personal attacks. Unfortunately I have been too lenient in dropping the hammer on one who truly deserved it, namely Dan. Personal attacks and juvenile antics were all that he ever “offered” this blog. He was asked several times to offer up something of substance but each time he resisted the call and chose instead to call people names and attempt to mock myself and my guests rather than engage in meaningful discussion. Dan’s comments will no longer appear on this blog and have already largely been removed from previous posts.

As for a commenting policy, its still pretty open. I want others to feel free to disagree with me on any subject. If you disagree, thats great. If you think the earth is a cube, fine, just give some reason as to why you believe what you believe and we will get along just fine. But maybe I will institute a Don’t be an ass rule just to cover the bases.

5 Responses to “A Commenting Policy?”


  1. July 27, 2010 at 9:49 AM

    I knew you would try to get around it Dan. But you can only get around it temporarily. Go ahead and keep creating email addresses if you would like

  2. 2 Superpickle
    July 27, 2010 at 11:31 AM

    šŸ˜‰

  3. July 28, 2010 at 12:12 AM

    A mark of maturity is when one retains the ability to control his own behavior and respond, thoughtfully, in a productive manner regardless of the behavior of others.

    Well done.

  4. 4 Triton
    July 30, 2010 at 8:02 PM

    Good for you, Erik. You made the right choice.

  5. August 11, 2010 at 12:44 PM

    “In fact, with the exception of a single post I pulled several years ago due to personal attacks in the comments”

    And to this day I am grateful


Leave a Reply

