24
May
10

Spring Cleaning For Facebook

Those of us who use facebook, however marginally, have undoubtedly seen all kinds of little applications that promise to relieve us of our boredom for the low price of access to our page. I suspect that 99% of these little apps are completely innocuous and I am not saying you shouldn’t ever use any of them, but the fact remains that once authorized they continue to have access to your account until such time as you pull that permission. From that they could potentially datamine your info for whatever nefarious purposes they have in mind (think spam) and so I think that it is a good idea to get rid of that permission from time to time.

If you want to get rid of all the applications that have access to your info, go to the Account drop down on the upper right, select Application Settings. then from the Show drop down menu select Authorized. You can then see all of the applications that have access to your info and can remove those you don’t want any longer. You might be surprised at just how many apps have access to your account.

I had been pruning access using the “recently used” tab and so “only” had 31 apps on there, about 7 of which are FB standard and they cannot be removed and one is “Marketplace” and that is a big classified ad system from FB that I want to keep as well. But going thru this I found some intellectually stimulating things like “How Mennonite are you” and “Which plastic army guy are you.” Clearly the cleanup was in order. So now my account is clean and the paranoid in me is much happier.

1 Response to “Spring Cleaning For Facebook”


  1. May 25, 2010 at 7:03 PM

    I delete my texts after I am done texting a person. I like a clean phone? For clean phone s@x? Ah ha ha ha ha!
    I also delete, and clean my email account when checking emails.
    I wonder what we believe will happen if these medias are kept “dirty”?

    😉 Later toots ;P


Leave a Reply

