18
Mar
10

1st Time In 33 Years

I will be 33 in a few weeks and I just had a “first” today. I met a woman who stated not once, or even twice but at least three times that her boyfriend of 9 years was her “better half.” I was rather shocked and even commented upon it. I have not EVER heard a woman say that before and may not ever hear it again as it is usually only said by men and has a large element of humility which is sadly non-existent in most women. As a side note, she was 43 and a mother and kept herself in shape and I thought she was my age. I guess that one is one more anecdotal evidence against marriage.

4 Responses to “1st Time In 33 Years”


  1. March 21, 2010 at 7:56 PM

    🙂 Well… I know we’ve never met but may I be a married woman who tells you that she freely admits that she married up?

    My husband is damn near the perfect man. At least he’s perfect for me in all the ways that count.

    Women who appreciate and value the men in their lives are out here. Hopefully we are not a dying breed.

  2. March 22, 2010 at 7:17 PM

    Heidi,

    You are on my “exception” list, a list of women who are not being referred to when I talk about “women”

    “At least he’s perfect for me in all the ways that count.” I think thats the important distinction. “perfect for you” Too many people, men and especially women, chase after that elusive perfection that doesn’t actually exist except in the media and imaginations


Leave a Reply

