30
Oct
09

Motorcycles: The Ural Patrol

Since motorcycles have been brought up and there have been a few posts up at the Spear-Head I have been thinking again upon one that I want (for the record I do not own a motorcycle at this time)

The Patrol by Ural is essentially a WWII Russian military design and it has been in constant production since then. There have been some upgrades but it is not exactly a high-tech machine. The Patrol has the old styling with a detachable sidecar that has its own powered wheel which makes it a two wheel drive motorcycle which is capable of going where other sidecars cannot. Check out this guys photos of the 4 corners area. Of course many people take motorcycles to Moab, but sidcars don’t typically do too well there, so check out this video of a Ural tackling the snow. Can’t do that on a typical motorcycle. It is also renowned for its ease of maintenance which can often be repaired by its owner.

Of course, there are no claims to it being a powerhouse or speed demon. And some will certainly not like its retro look. But I say ‘F em, I want one. This is something that would be fun for a weekend getaway type bike or for adventure-biking which is something I am interested in as well.

2 Responses to “Motorcycles: The Ural Patrol”


  1. October 30, 2009 at 1:51 PM

    No complaints from me on the appearance, I like retro.

    I also really like the aspect of the owner being able to handle repairs. That’s a very practical recommendation for it.

  2. November 30, 2009 at 1:33 AM

    Seconded. Ural models are awesome, but I still don’t trust “cage-drivers” enough to use it on a public road. Still, I find myself browsing the ads now and again for a Ural.


Leave a Reply

