28
Oct
09

Submission

Submission is so much less about the person to whom one must submit and so much more about the one who is choosing to submit. To yield personal desires and passions, drives and self-will to the authority and pervue of another requires insane amounts of trust.

Heidi wrote this over at Arielle’s and I thought it was interesting considering the conversation I had with my mother just today. She was telling me how the problems with relationships is that men don’t love like they are supposed to, after all men were commanded to love their wives.  I brought up the fact that right before that women were told to submit to their husbands. Her response? No one is going to do that anymore so it is irrelevant.

In her mind there is no disconnect between severing the female from all responsibility and yet still expecting all of the benefits. And in the end it is always the man’s fault somehow.

2 Responses to “Submission”


  1. October 28, 2009 at 1:45 PM

    Ugh. Disconnect, indeed.

    I hope you didn’t get the impression that I was pinning the fault solely on men in my post, Erik. I simply feel that certain mens’ movements are blaming women much the way feminism blamed men, and that they only encourage divisive attitudes, rather than an understanding that for a relationship to work, both the man and the woman have to do their part and be personally responsible for their actions and attitudes.

    Interestingly enough, we apparently grew up in completely opposite ends of the spectrum.

  2. October 28, 2009 at 6:33 PM

    Arielle,
    You are one of the women that are not included when I roll my eyes at the antics of women. You and a few others of my readers have proved that you are made of better stuff and are consistent in your beliefs and actions (at least blog actions anyways) That has given you a right to be sincerely listened to when you speak out on something.

    We (both sexes) do carry blame for where our world is now and we both need to change in order to bring balance back. For some that means going a bit overboard but I guess they can be excused as every group needs prophets and evangelists. They won’t, however, end up very happy and that isn’t something I want for myself. Besides, I am an “evangelist” for a different cause and ya can’t take up two causes cuz there just isn’t enough energy to go around.


Leave a Reply

