25
Oct
09

Gout Cure?

UPDATE: For additional info please see this update. Also see this new blog on gout About Gout: Symptoms, Causes, Treatment, Relief

Gout

For those of you who have it or know someone who does, you know just how painful it is. Gout is caused by a buildup of uric acid in the body and that acid crystallizes in the joints acting much like little daggers and feeling the same way. There are medicines to”treat” gout but they all have some pretty horrendous side affects, one such drug can cause your skin to slough off, or in my words, turn you into a zombie! So treating with drugs is rather risky in my mind. Some people find relief from the standard homeopathic things like cherries or cherry juice, but I found exactly zero relief from such things.

The things that cause gout to flare up for me are not the usual dietary things. For instance, the dietary guidelines talk about avoiding organ meats and herring as well as not eating too much meat in general. I fail on the third one (can’t eat wheat so I am rather limited) but the first two aren’t even in my diet (and I don’t eat hot dogs or bologna so I don’t get it there either.)  For me, its drinking too much soda. But its not just that. If I switch from soda and go to my standby of Gatorade I get the same reaction, tho I do drink a lot more gatorade than I do of soda. Now nothing on the internet refers to such a connection and I have been assured by my doctor that there is no chemical reason for that as the sugar in those do not translate to uric acid. I believe my doctor but there has been an undeniable connection there for me.

Find Gout Relief Products At Amazon

So what does work? I found a so-called two-hour cure. The formula is really quite esoteric and outrageously expensive. Seriously! You have to drive to the nearest walmart to pick up a box of baking soda** (Cost: Approx. 50 cents)  and then drive all the way home and mix 1/4 teaspoon with 8 ounces of water and drink that several times per day, never to exceed 4 tsps a day. Guess what? It works! Starts to take the pain and swelling away within 90 minutes for me. But why does that work? I did some searching and as near as I can tell there is no chemical reaction between backing soda and uric acid so it had to be elsewhere.

PH Level

Water has a pH of 7 but the body must maintain the blood’s pH level in a very strict range of 7.35-7.45. Its an incredibly small range with which to work and in order to keep this particular range it will do two things. 1) Store excess acid in body tissue 2) Leech calcium from the bones to bring up the pH. Now the standard western diet is already acidic but when you add in soda it becomes much worse. The linked site shows that Coke has a pH of 2.63 and Gatorade a pH of 2.95. So by drinking these in excess I have been bringing my pH level down. Likely down far enough to bring on a state of acidosis. I can’t prove that perhaps but it is likely seeing as my consumption of soda can be 3-6 cans a day and as I make my own Gatorade using the mix there is no telling just how much of that I drink. Of course, for some most people that isn’t a problem as their body is in proper working condition, but unfortunately I am apparently not one of them.

What I found is that baking soda has a PH of 8.3, whereas water has a neutral PH of 7. So by drinking in this 8.3 PH water mixture I am bringing up my bodies’ pH level from a state of acidosis to one approaching normal. This allows my body to take the acid and put it back in the bloodstream to be processed by the kidneys as it should be. But to be honest, I found the adding of baking soda to be tedious and tho it doesn’t taste bad at all it does make the water “slick” which is rather different. Plus I had to monitor my intake and keep out a separate glass  and it was kinda like medicine so I used it in that manner which means I only took it when I hurt enough to take something for the pain. There had to be something better right?

Well, I found that something better it in the form of Alkaline Water. There are numerous companies*** out there that make drops to add to your water and there is even one company that bottles alkaline water. The latter seems like it might be more expensive in the long run so I chose some drops from Alkazone which were the only ones I could buy locally. The vitamin shop sells them for $21 and and they have proven to be incredibly simplistic and therefore get used with just about every glass of water that I drink throughout the day.
Alkazone At Amazon

In the UK? Click HERE

So for anyone who has gout or knows someone with gout, I strongly urge you to try the baking soda remedy** above and see if it works for you.  If it helps to relieve your gout you may want to consider an easier option in bottled water or drops to add to your water like I use.

* FCC disclaimer: I am not getting free product nor pay for this review. However, I AM open to money or free product if anyone wants to provide it! (o=

** Baking Soda contains a fair amount of salt. Please moderate salt intake while using it or how that fits into a restricted salt intake.

***Another company whose product I would like to try is from ph-ion
pH-ion At Amazon

In the UK? Click HERE

With pH-ion there are two different bottles where the minerals come separately from the alkaline booster whereas Alkazone puts them in the same bottle. Is there a difference? Dunno. However if you are interested in getting pH strips you could compare.

16 Responses to “Gout Cure?”


  1. 1 SuperPickle
    November 3, 2009 at 1:07 AM

    Or an even CHEAPER way to cure it would be to QUIT drinking the soda in the first place. 😉

  2. November 8, 2009 at 6:22 AM

    It is a little more complicated than this. And the low pH of soda is probably negligible as the soda has a low pH (mainly) because of carbonic acid, much of which is released in your gut as CO2 and not absorbed. Yes our diet is acidic (probably the protein) but kidneys do fine at excreting acid.

    But you may be on to something with the soda (despite your doctor’s current unawareness). Much of the world sweetens soda with sucrose (which is half glucose and half fructose). But I believe the US uses high fructose corn syrup. I am uncertain if this has higher fructose? But from memory it is thought the breaking down of fructose leads to higher uric acid production (which kidney’s then need to get rid of).

    So switch to a sugar free brand (or perhaps use a sucrose sweetened over a fructose sweetened. What do they use in Canada?). I predominantly use diet soda.

    And you know they suggest you avoid alcohol it you get gout!

    Email me to discuss this further.

  3. November 8, 2009 at 11:02 PM

    cherry juice or cherries work wonders.

  4. November 8, 2009 at 11:03 PM

    I’m sure what part of the country you’re in, otherwise I would tell you to visit your local China Town for out of season cherries. If you try let me know, you should notice a difference in no time at all.

  5. November 8, 2009 at 11:05 PM

    Opps, reread the post, nevermind.

    have been assured by my doctor that there is no chemical reason for that as the sugar in those do not translate to uric acid

    maybe not sugar but look at all the other crap you can find in soda.

  6. 6 Jason L.
    November 9, 2009 at 7:02 PM

    I am going to try this. I am a fairly intelligent man and I do research everything, its my nature, I feel the desire to not just watch but find out how everything really works. I have been digging for a couple of years to find a more natural and logical cure (aid) for this problem. I know that diet is the first and most effective manner to control it but, I don’t believe that there are no other means to fight this naturally. The human body is the most amazing organism on earth and its ability to adapt and change is our greatest asset to find a more natural and logical method to control the symptoms of gout. So, in a nut shell, I can see where you are going with this and it seems to make sense to me. I will let you know how it effects me and my problems. Thank you for the innovative thought……. J

  7. May 24, 2010 at 12:48 PM

    Thank you for your article. There are a lot of sites out there that don’t make as much sense about gout, so that’s refreshing. I’ve got a similar website myself, so will keep popping back to see what else you’ve posted.

  8. June 14, 2010 at 8:41 PM

    Gout really must be considered an awful problem, my nephew is having difficulties with it for a very long time now. It puts a lot of stress on me, watching an important family member suffer from extreme pain all too often. Pursuing a proper diet regime for prevention and making use of adequate medication and therapy is something I consider necessary. Personally, I suggest anybody who already notices the first signs or symptoms of arthritis to by all means take this absolutely serious. Better speak with a health care professional as soon as possible and change your food plan to prevent the outbreak of the condition. It is anything but fun. Research reasonable treatment options and keep clear of purine rich meals, alcohol based drinks etc for prophylaxis.

  9. 9 Rachel Dryden
    July 13, 2010 at 1:47 PM

    Huh. Interesting. So what about tea/coffee? Do they have the same problems with Ph? I ask because while I rarely drink soda, I am somewhat addicted to sweet tea. And I do believe being Ph balanced is very important. For all kinds of reasons, not just gout.

  10. 10 Candace
    March 13, 2011 at 7:55 PM

    COPY AND PASTED FORM WIKIPEDIA
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperuricemia

    Hyperuricemia – is a level of uric acid in the blood that is abnormally high.

    Under Causes
    Mixed causes include high levels of alcohol and/or fructose in the diet, and starvation.

    Under mixed
    High dietary intake of fructose contributes significantly to hyperuricemia.[11][12][13] In a large study in the United States, consumption of four or more sugar-sweetened soft drinks per day gave an odds ratio of 1.82 for hyperuricemia.[14] Increased production of uric acid is the result of interference, by a product of fructose metabolism, in purine metabolism. This interference has a dual action, both increasing the conversion of ATP to inosine and hence uric acid and increasing the synthesis of purine.[15] Fructose also inhibits the excretion of uric acid, apparently by competing with uric acid for access to the transport protein SLC2A9.[16] The effect of fructose in reducing excretion of uric acid is increased in people with a hereditary (genetic) predisposition toward hyperuricemia and/or gout.[15]

    COPY AND PASTED FORM WIKIPEDIA

  11. 11 Candace
    March 13, 2011 at 7:57 PM

    sorry the above post explains how FRUCTOSE can cause GOUT

  12. March 22, 2011 at 9:33 AM

    Thanks Candace!
    I am currently trying to stop my soda habit. I haven’t been able to stop completely just yet, but I have been feeling better since I am now less than a can a day. I suppose once I get off it completely I will feel much better.

    And that is very interesting about the fructose. I assumed that it was the acid that caused the problem, and maybe it is more the fructose that is the issue? Altho, I am not discounting the acid, its probably a really bad combination of the two.

  13. 13 Joe
    June 13, 2011 at 5:50 AM

    I have no answers but I don know that I can not drink gatorade because I always have a right big toe gout flare up two days after. I don’t believe that it is the gatorade alone; but a combination of the gatorade with something else, in my diet, that causes this. I have found that eating cherries, drinking lots of water and taking water pills is what helps me the quickest. I just might try the baking soda thing tonight.

  14. April 6, 2017 at 8:40 PM

    Mr Candace.! I would love to hear about them devise Candace was referring to. Thank you so much


Leave a Reply

