11
Jul
11

Gout Cure: Update

UPDATE: For additional info please see this new blog on gout: About Gout: Symptoms, Causes, Treatment, Relief

My previous post on gout has been, by far, my most popular post and I feel it is time to update so as to give better information out there to those searching for a remedy to an extremely painful problem.

My previous post talked about how I found some relief using alkaline raising products from plain old baking soda in a solution of water as well as alkaline drops. I did indeed get some relief from that, but it wasn’t ever enough. The attacks were coming even more frequently and I had been on a cane for months. I couldn’t really even walk without that cane, so I eventually bought a second one to ensure that I would never be without it. I would leave one in my car and one in my house so one would always be near. Even still, sometimes I had to resort to using crutches as it was just too painful to put any pressure on my feet. But what is worse, is that gout eventually attacked my knees. I thought I had already experienced the worst that gout could do, but when it hit my knees I was in for a whole new world of hurt. I couldn’t move and just wanted to throw up from the pain. (Do NOT let it get to your knees!!! My recommendations below are nothing compared to that pain, trust me.)

Well, I finally decided to get on gout medication, Allopurinol in my case. I had been putting it off because of the potential for horrendous side effects. I was on it for only three days when I became terribly ill. I wasn’t sure tho if it was the medicine as I worked in a petri dish of an office: overcrowded and with lots of sick people; tho up to that point I had stayed completely healthy (aside from the gout that is.) So I stopped the med immediately and resumed it a week after I was better. Well, I did indeed have a negative reaction to that medicine. I ended up with an itchy rash that stayed with me for almost three weeks after stopping the med. I also learned that a decreased immune system is one of the side effects so I can safely blame the illness on it as well.

Find Gout Relief Products At Amazon

So what is the update? One of the visitors to the previous post pointed me to an article on Wikipedia about Hyperuricemia.

High dietary intake of fructose contributes significantly to hyperuricemia.[11][12][13] In a large study in the United States, consumption of four or more sugar-sweetened soft drinks per day gave an odds ratio of 1.82 for hyperuricemia.[14] Increased production of uric acid is the result of interference, by a product of fructose metabolism, in purine metabolism. This interference has a dual action, both increasing the conversion of ATP to inosine and hence uric acid and increasing the synthesis of purine.[15] Fructose also inhibits the excretion of uric acid, apparently by competing with uric acid for access to the transport protein SLC2A9.[16] The effect of fructose in reducing excretion of uric acid is increased in people with a hereditary (genetic) predisposition toward hyperuricemia and/or gout.

So what I see in this article is that my consumption of fructose is destroying my bodies ability to remove uric acid from my body and at the same time, increasing the production of painful gout crystals which would end up in my joints. As I had mentioned in my previous post on the subject, I already knew that soda and gatorade caused my gout. I was sure of it, despite doctors telling me that there was no chemical transformation that would turn the ingredients in soda into uric acid. Turns out, it doesn’t need to turn to uric acid as it added to it in different ways.

So to answer the question I see all the time: YES, gatorade can cause your gout. Gatorade uses Fructose to sweeten their drinks and so consuming Gatorade (Or Powerade) can indeed cause your gout. Soda’s are probably worse though, as they use High-Fructose corn syrup for a sweetener and they are more calorically dense, meaning even more fructose per ounce consumed. Worse, any sugar can cause this problem as regular sugar (sucrose) contains fructose as well.

The best answer, is to avoid as much sugary foods and drinks as possible. This includes soda, sports drinks and candy. Its not real easy, and I still drink a real Coke from time to time, but I have had to switch to diet sodas and chocolates like a snickers bar instead of my preferred skittles and starbursts. Now, I am still, after three months, not of the opinion that diet sodas taste very good. What I have found to work for me is to have numerous types of diet sodas so that I can have a different type each time I grab a can. Whereas in the past I could have Coke or Dr Pepper in my fridge and for months never think twice about the selection, I now have Sprite Zero, Fresca, Diet Dr. Pepper, Diet Mug, Diet Cherry Pepsi, and Diet Sierra Mist in my fridge. I also buy Diet Rite as well. None of these will cause gout.

I have been three months gout free except for one weekend where (leading up to it) I had started drinking regular soda again. If you are suffering from gout, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE try this. Dietary changes are NEVER easy, but I have no doubt you have already changed your diet to try to stop the pain. This one should provide results pretty quickly.

Just so I don’t fall afoul of lawyers:
1) Its not Gatorade, Coke, or Pepsi et. al. themselves that cause gout, but the fructose which is used as a sweetener. Choose a diet variety instead.
2) “Real” sugar also contains fructose, but in lesser amounts than a High fructose corn syrup. I suggest avoiding both
3) I’m not a doctor. Duh. You should always discuss changes to your diet (and ESPECIALLY your medicine) with your medical practitioner.

Gout related products on Amazon:

Product: The Ultimate Gout Formula

[Product Description] [Specifications]

In the UK? Click HERE

13 Responses to “Gout Cure: Update”


  1. 1 Pickle
    July 11, 2011 at 9:16 AM

    The artificial sweeteners in your diet soda aren’t exactly that wonderful for you either. How about just quitting soda all together? When we cut the grain in our house we also cut the soda. The first 10 days sucked, after it was easy. Neither of us will even consider a soda now. We are water and iced tea junkies, unsweetened iced tea to truthful. If you want something sweet look to natural plant based sweeteners like Stevia, that is an herb. I am actually growing the stuff to add to hot teas and it rocks.

    It’s about changing your tastes buds. The bigger the diet change you make the better, if it can’t be plucked from a tree or bush, pulled from the ground or butchered from an animal, than why do you insist on ingesting it? Gout, is just one way your body is trying to speak to you. Its going to come up with other ways once its had enough of the diet soda.

  2. July 11, 2011 at 10:12 AM

    An interesting proposition. I have heard plenty of anti-sugar arguments before but none connecting it to gout. I had heard of so few cases of this that I thought it had been wiped out by modern diet and nutrition, then I started hearing commercials for gout treatments as if it were an epidemic. I still don’t know anyone who has this, so I think it is still rare.

    Another one making a comeback: Goiter. We added trace amounts of iodine to table salt to make this very rare. Then trendy nutritionists started telling everyone to use sea salt (no iodine) instead. Results: predictable.

    But it seems the only drink that is safe is filtered water.

  3. 3 Johnycomelately
    July 11, 2011 at 11:09 PM

    As I’m reading this my hand is the size of a football, boy is gout painful! I don’t drink soft drinks or eat sweets so I am going to have to find the source of my fructose, I do eat a lot of fruit.

  4. July 16, 2011 at 10:24 PM

    I also have gout.

    Ten years ago I had to go on drugs. Its not fun but its better than the pain. As far as I know, once your body loses the ability to remove uric acid properly you never get it back. But you can do things to help out. All sodas are bad. I’ve been drinking diet for years but that is worse than regular for several reasons, and no I still haven’t been able to kick the habit.

    The best drug ever for treating gout was Vioxx. You can’t get it anywhere for any price. So the next best thing is to not have an attack, which means take the drugs. Probenecid is another choice if the Allopurinol isn’t working. Allopurinol didn’t work for me and I can’t do the steroid treatments when I have a flare up due to the side effects. IF you get gout in your knee the only thing you can do is get a cortizone shot under the knee cap or go on the steroids. If that happens, get the shot FAST.

    The down side of the Probenecid is that it isn’t made in America anymore, which means that you run the risk of getting a bad batch imported from China. I’ve gone through this as well. I wouldn’t have known about it except my Pharmacist fessed up about the problem and she is now sourcing my drugs through a different wholesaler.

    Good luck. Drop me a PM if you want more info.

  5. July 17, 2011 at 6:04 PM

    Res,

    I did try meds and they messed me up, so not much chance of me going on them again. However, I no longer need them. Its been 3 months since I had an attack whereas I used to not have attacks so much as I had “not attacks” because as I experienced it, the pain was a constant, and it was a rare day indeed when I had only a “little” pain and didn’t have to use the cane or crutches. The question was mainly, which foot was it in today and can I make it with just a cane or will I need the crutches? Usually the it was in my left foot, but occasionally it would clear up and switch immediately to the right.

    As for the ability to remove uric acid, I can’t really speak to that. I do know that gout meds damage the kidneys which makes the root problem even worse. The fructose, however, just makes it worse, regardless of how much or how little uric acid you are able to excrete. Getting rid of the fructose frees up the protein transports to concentrate on the uric acid.

    As for the diet, yes I know its bad for me. But its bad for me sometime in the future. I could give myself a gout attack right away with the good tasting sodas. Also, I plan on monitoring my uric acid levels to see if they continue to fall.

  6. July 17, 2011 at 6:19 PM

    JohnnyComeLately,

    If your hand is that bad, meds may be the only thing for you. You might try drinking a solution of baking soda in water, which may help. You take 1/4 – 1/2 tsp of baking soda in 8-12 ounces of water and stir it until it is clear. Then drink that down. (it doesn’t taste bad, its just “slick”) Do that when first waking up and several times thoughout the day and again before bedtime. It won’t fix the problem, but it might just bring some significant relief.

    If you do try the baking soda, remember that there is a lot of salt in there, and you will need to ensure you aren’t getting too much salt in your diet. I would say no more than 2-3 tsps total in a day, assuming that you aren’t on a salt restricted diet and that you cut out other sources of salt.

  7. 7 Joelle
    July 31, 2011 at 5:30 PM

    If you go to earthclinic.com and type “gout” in the search box, a lot of threads will come up where people shared what helped them get rid of gout. There are natural treatments such as alfalfa and apple cider vinegar (with the “mother” in it) that have a high success rate. I have found the site useful for a bunch of different ailments. Hopefully you all will find it helpful, too.

  8. 8 Rick Lane
    August 28, 2011 at 7:02 AM

    I suffered gout for many years and was finally able to keep it at bay using classical homeopathy based on the works of Dr. Vithoulkas. (versus the so-called homeopathic remedies you may find in the drugstore which are not effective).

    Last week by chance I drank several bottles of Gatorade and within 12 hours had a painful attack in my left knee. I used homeopathy and managed to get rid of it in about 3 days. Last night I drank one bottle of the Gatorade that I had left over, and 4-5 hours later I had another attack of gout in the same knee. That is proof enough for me.

    I used to try baking soda and it did help sometimes. Unfortunately, anyone with high blood pressure (like me) needs to be careful. When I would take that remedy IMMEDIATELY upon feeling those first dreaded twinges of gout, it would often help.

  9. December 4, 2011 at 5:48 PM

    Hey cheeky!

    I too have gout. Weird, all the handsome people seem to get it ;)
    LMAO

    I try to cut back on ice cream (yeah, like that ever works, the cutting back thing) chocolate & rich foods.

    It sure hurts like a mother bleeper though.

    My arthritis is getting awfully horrible lately too. Hence why I keep moving, I am afraid one day, I will not be able to move.

    Sadly, eating better and daily exercise does have some perks..

    PS. I am taking donations for breast surgery and liposuction. While I am under I may got for a mild jowl lift and some Botox. Any selfless givers out there wanna help a sister? Heh…

  10. 10 Old timing man
    January 27, 2012 at 5:34 AM

    I have suffered with gout for years . Cut out gatorade – no gout . Last week drank half bottle of gatorade just to see, next day it came on strong. Celebrex is my go to relief .

  11. April 4, 2014 at 3:38 AM

    The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested
    to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know
    this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  12. April 15, 2014 at 7:58 PM

    Amazing issues here. I’m very happy to see
    your article. Thank you so muhh and I’m looking ahead to contact you.

    Will you please drop me a mail?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

